Home > Main > External Blu-ray burner for the Mac

External Blu-ray burner for the Mac

After some hunting I discovered a Blu-ray drive that works with the Mac.  The best part – it’s very affordable when compared to others on the market.

Buffalo Technology External Blu-ray HD DVD Combo Drive

It reads Blu-ray, HD DVD, DVD, and CD, as well as writing Blu-ray, DVD, and CD.  I was pleasant surprised when it worked out of the box with Toast 9 with the Blu-ray HD DVD plug-in.  I picked it up on sale @ Circuit City.

Categories: Main
  1. November 5, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Wally,
    It does work with a Mac then, for the site and Circuit City site only list Windows Vista as the supported operating system?

    Thanks for a reply
    Michael

  2. November 5, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    That’s a great question – and one I don’t know the answer to. I’ve actually found with this burner as well as my webcam that although Mac support isn’t listed it works flawlessly.

  3. November 5, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Brian,
    Thanks so much. I am going to buy one today and I don’t anticipate any problems but Circuit City does have a return policy.

    Michael

  4. November 6, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    Brian,
    I am having some problems. Is there a way I can contact you for some help?
    You can reach me at canula@verizon.net

    Thanks,
    Michael

  5. December 30, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Brian,

    after some months, are you still happy with the burner, or did you had any issues with it? I’m about to buy one for myself and I want no surprises.

  6. January 2, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    To Bruno-

    Yes, very satisfied in fact. I am happy to report that I have not made one coaster with the drive and everything I have burned has played back flawlessly.

    The only quirk I’ve noticed has been burning blu-ray discs. If I burn direct (that is, without making a disk image first) it takes a lot longer than if I save as a disc image first. The truth is, the amount of time it takes to save a disc image and then write it to a blu-ray is probably about equal to the time it takes to write it directly to the drive, but I’ve gone back to making a disk image first as it reduces the time the drive is in use.

    • Sam
      January 13, 2011 at 7:49 am

      I have a mac book pro with Mac OS X version 10.5.8 I bought the Buffalo 8x external compact Blu-ray writer which it says is only compatible with Windows OS but I read online that if you use third party software it can work fine with Mac. Here is the problem though- I have not been able to find a “How To” to walk me step by step through this process. Please help.

  7. January 14, 2009 at 6:02 am

    Wally, Do you know how I can export Final Cut Studio 2 HD video to burn using this Blu-ray drive? What exactly do I need to do. I can’t seem to find any clear answers during my online searches.

  8. Edmond
    January 27, 2009 at 1:46 am

    Can you give us the specs of your Mac? I am using a G5 with osx 10.4. Do you think this burner will work on my system as well?

  9. January 27, 2009 at 5:32 am

    I’m running a Mac Mini with a Core 2 Duo Process, 2 Gigs of RAM, and Mac OS X 10.5.6. I’ve only tested this under Mac OS 10.5 versions…

  10. January 28, 2009 at 3:44 am

    I’ve bought the newer 8x blu-ray only (no hddvd) drive and I’ve tested already burning 20+GB into a BD-RE and it worked perfectly. Had no time yet to test it more. Running on a Mac Mini intel 2Ghz and with toast 8. Thank you Buffalo for respecting the standards 🙂

  11. GG
    February 28, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Quick Q: If you burn a DVD on this blu-ray burner — can it be viewed on any system, e.g.,

    a PC or a Mac, or a DVD player?
    I am trying to burn a DVD of a movie (shot in HD) for a film festival — would it be able to be viewed?

  12. March 22, 2009 at 3:19 am

    I found a heck of a deal today on a Sony HD camcorder, but as I was talking to the salesman he brought up the point about the BD burner. I found this article and I’m glad I did since now I have an option for burning the disks to free up space.

    However, what sort of software do I need to burn the disks on a Quad G5? (OS 10.5) I have access to Final Cut HD, but typically just use Toast Titanium when I want to move files to disk media.

  13. Mike
    May 6, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    I am looking for an external blu-ray burner for our iMac. Will this work with Apple’s iMac?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

