Home > Hampton > One Year

One Year

July 1st marked by one-year mark on the staff at Hampton Presbyterian Church.

Here’s are some of the notable events that happened in my first year @ Hampton

  • First weekend lock-in with Jr and Sr High, followed by preaching at all three services that Sunday
  • Sr High Mission Trip to Newport, TN
  • Kidnappings for both incoming 6th graders and 9th graders
  • First Youth Groups!
  • Awesome service project at the Union Project
  • Wet and muddy Jr. High retreat

September and October were incredible months… then November began:

  • Mid-November: Twyla, our interim associate pastor, accepts a call and has her last Sunday @ HPC
  • End of November: I leave for a an extended weekend at the National Youth Workers Convention in Charlotte, NC
  • Beginning of December: I come back from that event full of ideas and energized.  That Tuesday morning Pastor Doug informs me that he has accepted another call and will be leaving sometime after the first of the year
  • That evening I meet with the CPM of Pittsburgh Presbytery to be approved for ordination
  • That Thursday I appear before the Presbytery for my final oral trials for ordination
  • That Thursday evening Pastor Doug announces to the Session that he is leaving
  • That Friday I leave with a group of high school students for our winter retreat @ Camp Crestfield.
  • That Saturday evening I find out that Renee is indeed pregnant and I will be becoming a father

That week was possibly the craziest week of my life…

  • Shortly after Christmas I preach my sermon, “God’s Horrible Timing” in which I address the many issues facing the church with the departure of Pastor Doug.  Perhaps a more significant moment for me because it was the first time that I felt I had to step into the role of being a leader for the whole congregation.
  • Mid-January: Clearview Construction Services, the general contractor for the addition at church informs us that they’re pulling out of the project, leaving the church on their own to finish it.
  • Beginning of February: Pastor Doug’s last Sunday and my tenure as the lone pastor begins
  • Beginning of March: Transitional Pastor Steve Lytch arrives – there is much rejoicing from Brian!
  • An awesome 30 Hour Famine complete with the food drive to end all food drives

Most of spring has been spent dealing with transitional and finance issues – but I will say that I’ve learned more in my first year of ministry than I ever expected to – and now have dealt with things I never expected that I would have to do deal with.

All in all, it’s been a year full of blessings (including some unexpected ones) and I feel very blessed to have been called to serve and be a part of Hampton Presbyterian.

Categories: Hampton
  1. Reformed Cahtolic
    July 5, 2007 at 9:23 pm

    Brian,

    this sounds like the basis of a great ‘guest talk’ that could be given to 2nd and 3rd year students at ‘the better’ PTS !!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

