Home > Hampton, Youth Ministry > Weekend

Weekend

So, ever since my time at Hampton began in one sense I’ve focused on the Sr. High portion of the ministry – not because I like them better, but simply because everything I’ve read says when you come into a new church you need to make a concerted effort to keep your Sr. High group together or else you’ll lose them completely.  Your Jr. High group on the other hand, is more likely to keep together regarldess.  The other reason is that the majority of events planned the the latter half of the summer we for Sr. High students.  Finally, and this is the biggest reason, is that I spent a week on a mission trip with the Sr. High and didn’t have the chance to do that with the Jr. High.

Anyway, knowing that this wasn’t a good situation I scheduled for Jr. High retreat for early in the year (this past weekend).  The downside was that this turned out to be a bad weekend for a whole bunch of our kids so not as many of them could go as I would have hoped, but we still had a nice sized group (11) go.  We went to Camp Crestfield, which is my personal favorite place to go for retreats because (1) I worked there – so I know where things are (2) It tends to be very quiet so its a good change of pace for people.  So, although it was a very tiring weekend for everyone involved, it was a great opportunity for me to get to know this amazing group of kids.  The other really cool part of the weekend was to see how the Jr. High students have bonded with the Sr. High leaders.

All in all – a fabulous weekend.

Categories: Hampton, Youth Ministry
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

