Home > Barth for Armchair Theologians, John Franke, Karl Barth > Barth for Armchair Theologians: Preview

Barth for Armchair Theologians: Preview

Today I finally received a book that I’ve been looking forward to reading for quite some time, Barth for Armchair Theologians. Ever since I discovered Barth’s thinkin during my first year of seminary I’ve been on the look out for a book that I could recommend to everyday people to help them understand Barth’s thinking. While there are many very good books out there on Barth (see Ben Myers list) none of the ones that I’ve looked at have gotten at Barth’s thinking in a way that I could accessible to most people.

Enter Barth for Armchair Theologians. Written by John Franke of Biblical Seminary this I hope is the book that I’ve been looking for. Over the next few weeks I’ll be reading and posting my thoughts about this new book. If you are looking for an “objective opinion” on the book I will not be a good source. I’m a big fan of Barth and count John Franke amongst my personal friends.

One note that I found priceless already is John’s dedication, which reads: “For J.J. (Because this book has pictures)”. J.J. is John’s eight(?) year old son.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

