Home > Pictures, Wedding/Marriage > Honeymoon Adventures

Honeymoon Adventures

Well, they say no honeymoon is complete without an adventure and ours was no exception.  Here's the rundown:

1) We had planned to leave on Wednesday, but didn't leave til Thursday (No big deal)

2) When we got to the house (one of Renee's former roomate's parents own a place on Smith Mountain Lake in Virginia) we discovered that we had been given one key that opened the dead bolt on the door, but no key to open the door knob lock.  Alas, Dr. Jordahl had to drive 40 minutes from Roanoke to give us the right set of keys (No big deal)
3) Friday morning we walked out of the house to go down to the water and didn't realize that the door locked behind us – and the keys were inside.  Luckily we found a ladder, Renee climbed up and went in through the second floor door, which luckily we left unlocked (No big deal – once we knew we had left the second floor unlocked)

4) This morning we get all packed up and we're ready to go – and I notice that my rear tire is looking a little low.  Sure enough, upon closer inspection – it's flat.  So, I reach into the recesses of my mind and remember what my dad taught me about chaning a tire and we get the spare on.  We drive into town and ask them where the closest service center is.  By this time I knew that I had a screw in my tire so I was hoping it could be fixed.  Turns out the closest service center is a Wal-Mart 35 minutes away.  Well, it turned out to not be that far and Wal-Mart was in fact able to repair my tire, or so they thought.  Turns out we had driven on that tire too long and the inside had gotten all scratched up by the screw and the tire was shot.  So, I had to buy a new tire.  Finally, by 1 pm (almost three hours after we had hoped to leave) we were set to go.  After some lunch we were off…. (Big deal)

5) Until a tractor trailer decided to roll over on I-81 North and back things up for miles.  Besides this, the rain was coming in buckets so traffic was slowed for that reason already.  All in all, we moved about 10 miles in 2 hours.

6) We ended up getting lost – I forgot that we needed to be on Rt. 37 in Virginia for a while.  But luckily (with Renee's sharp eyes) we get turned around and back on track.
7) Now back on the road the rain continues – and slows traffic down even more. 

8) Finally, at 10 pm, 11 and a half hours after we "left" we arrive home.  Tired, but home and safe – with one new tire to show for it.  

I have posted some pictures from our honeymoon.  As you'll notice I had more fun taking photos of my beautiful wife but hey… do you blame me?

Categories: Pictures, Wedding/Marriage
  1. Katrine
    June 26, 2006 at 6:49 pm

    Well, if you made it through all that on your honeymoon, you should be able to deal with whatever is thrown at you for the next 75 years.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

